Categories
blog, blogger, blogging, agatha christie, Sherlock Holmes, Chetan Bhagat, Robin sherma,Bruce Lipton, the secret,critique club,book club

Confined To A Genre ๐Ÿ“š

Being confined to a genre is more common than the reading fraternity would like to admit.

My personal favorites were Sherlock Holmes and Agatha Christie with classics like ‘Pride and Prejidice’, ‘Wuthering Heights’ thrown in once in a while for good measure.

For decades I couldn’t pick up anything contemporary, regional or anything other than my favorites.

If I happened to start Chetan Bhagat, I would wonder, “Is this even  English? How did he even get published in the first place?”

I didn’t feel the effortless ease while reading Indian authors in English. It was like driving a very old car with jagged gears. It was  really easy to relinquish them totally and return to my comfort zone ie., Agatha Christie and Holmes.

Reading is not just for knowledge it is for companionship and I was most comfortable in their company.

Once in the library certain titles began to call me out. I guess I was at the threshold and crossover was just natural.

‘The Alchemist’ by Pablo Coelho ‘The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari’ by Robin Sharma, ‘The Secret’ by Rhonda Byrne, ‘The Biology Of Belief’ by Bruce Lipton and many more.

One friend led me to another and for the first time in my life I was among so many friends who cared for me enough to not only help me escape into a book but show me the way to the things I knew not.

It wasn’t really a crossover, only I had more comfort food in my pantry now.

Next I became part of a Critic Club where reading a story of the writer sitting in front of me in flesh and blood was a great high and then when I joined a Book Club which hosted and interviewed the new age Indian authors, sensitized me towards Indians writing in English. They were talking about the world as it is. It was not easy to shut them out, for they were saying what needed to be heard.

English began to appear not just as a borrowed language but a Universal medium unifying culture’s, communities and conscience.

By alkasharma

This blog is my space in the Universe. I can do whatever I want with it.

The question is why would anybody read my blog?
Why do I believe that I have something valuable to offer to the strangers that visit my Blog.

Am I super successful that I can offer them strategies to succeed?

Am I in absolute peace with myself that I can preach them to be at peace with themselves?

Am I self-disciplined, Divinely Spiritual, truly Religious, worldly wise and virtuous that others can observe and absorb all this from me?

Or am I an ideal daughter, sister, wife, mother, teacher, friend, colleague or companion that I can teach them a thing or two?

Well, I am none of the above and yet here I am breathing through my Blog. Every word that I breathe out will breathe into you. This organic osmosis is a great responsibility. I honor the space I am given and will use it as my own. I will share the space to share the slices of wisdom I have gathered, over the decades I have left behind.

Some slices will be sweet, some sour and some spicy, some will sieve into you like soup, some will stir your soul, some may stay with you and from some you may walk away.

I welcome you to โ€˜The Whisperings of my Soulโ€™.

Leave a comment